May a good source be with you.

After The Arrogance, Comes The Fall: BJP Loses 5-0 In Assembly Elections

On the first anniversary of Rahul Gandhi becoming Congress president, the party is all set to form governments in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan.

The Congress party has toppled the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) governments in Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh on Tuesday, December 11. The saffron party has managed to win only one seat each in Telangana and Mizoram. The impressive performance of the Congress coincides with the first anniversary of Rahul Gandhi getting elected as the president of the party.

In Madhya Pradesh, the Congress party has staked its claim to form the government under the leadership of Kamal Nath and sent a letter to Governor Anandiben Patel at 10.30 pm on Tuesday. Patel, however, refused to meet the party leaders. The Congress party won 114 seats, while the BJP won 109 seats. The independent candidates have reportedly extended their support to the Congress party. The counting concluded after 24 hours and the final results were declared at 8.20 am on Wednesday, December 12.

Kamalnath letter, Madhya Pradesh Election result
Kamalnath stakes claim to form the government in Madhya Pradesh.

Also read: Rajasthan: Reacting to BJP’s Setback in Assembly Elections, Twitter Users Give Party a Taste of its Own Medicine

In Rajasthan, the Congress has emerged as the single largest party with 99 seats, while BJP won 73 and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) won six seats in the 199-member Assembly. Communist Party of India (Marxist), Bhartiya Tribal Party, Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD), Rashtriya Loktantrik Party and Independent candidates won two, two, one, three, and 13 seats, respectively. The RLD has already pledged its support to the traditional party.  Sources confirmed News Central24x7 that CPI (M) will also give outside support to the Congress government in Rajasthan. The Congress party leaders, including Ashok Gehlot will meet Governor Kalyan Singh on Wednesday at 7 pm.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi (R) with Sachin Pilot. Credits: Facebook/@sachinpilot

In Chhattisgarh, the Congress party has won 68 seats, and the BJP managed to register a win only in 15 seats. The Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (J) and BSP have managed to win five and two seats, respectively.

The Mizo National Front has registered a thumping victory in Mizoram by winning 26 seats, while the Congress party is reduced to five seats.

With 88 seats in its kitty, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi is all set to form the government in the southern state again. The Congress-Telugu Desam Party won 21 seats.

Addressing a press conference at the Congress party headquarters in Delhi on Tuesday, Rahul Gandhi said, “The BJP has a certain ideology and we will fight against it. We have won this elections, we will also win in 2019. However, we do not want to get rid of anyone (hum kisi ko mukt nahi karna chahtein).”

“There is a clear message to Prime Minister Modi that people are not happy with his decisions, including demonetisation and those pertaining to farmers and youth,” he added.

अब आप न्यूज़ सेंट्रल 24x7 को हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं।यहाँ क्लिक करें