May a good source be with you.

First Phase of Polling Over, BJP Still Hasn’t Announced Candidates on Several Key Seats

Per reports, there is talk of Malegaon blast accused Sadhvi Pragya being nominated from Bhopal.

The first phase of polling for the 2019 Lok Sabha election concluded on Thursday, April 11. Voting was held in 91 constituencies across 18 states including Uttar Pradesh, Tripura, Telangana, Maharashtra, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh.

However, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is yet to declare candidates on several constituencies, polling in which would be held in the subsequent six phases.

The party has released 19 lists naming 408 candidates. The party is contesting elections in each state, either alone or in alliance with another party.

Also Read:  ‘If BJP Wins, Labour Laws Won’t Survive’: AICCTU Releases Charter of Workers’ Demands Ahead of Lok Sabha Polls

Per a report by GoNews, in Delhi, the party had not released the names of its candidates for any of the seven seats. In 2014, the saffron party had won all seven seats. The uncertainty over an alliance between Congress and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is one possible reason for the saffron party’s delay in announcing the candidates. 

In Uttar Pradesh, the ruling party has not released it’s nominees for Pratapgarh, Deoria and Ambedkar Nagar seats. Deoria sitting MP Raj Mishra has declined to fight election this year, citing his age. Sant Kabir Nagar is another constituency in the state where a name has been declared, the report added. 

In Madhya Pradesh, Congress’ Digvijay Singh is fighting the elections from the Bhopal seat but the BJP has not declared an opponent yet. According to the report, there are rumours of  Malegaon blast accused Sadhvi Pragya being nominated from the seat.

Also Read:  Uttar Pradesh: Voters Complain EVM Voting for BJP Despite Pressing BSP Button

No name has been finalised for Union Minister Sushma Swaraj’s Vidisha constituency. Swaraj had announced earlier that she would not be contesting this election. Similarly, after Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan said she too, would not be contesting, the BJP has not declared a candidate for her Indore seat.

In Punjab, where the BJP is allied with the Shiromani Akali Dal, no one has been nominated on the 3 out of the 16 seats that the party would be contesting.

अब आप न्यूज़ सेंट्रल 24x7 को हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं।यहाँ क्लिक करें