May a good source be with you.

Madhya Pradesh BJP Implodes: Ahead of Assembly Polls, Party Expels 53 Leaders Including Former Ministers Sartaj Singh and Narendra Kushwaha

Raj Kumar Yadav, Lata Mehsaki and Dheeraj Pateria were also removed.

Fifty-three rebel leaders were reportedly expelled by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Madhya Pradesh on Thursday, November 15. Senior BJP leader Sartaj Singh, Bhind MLA Narendra Kushwaha, former minister Ramkrishna Kusmaria and Gwalior’s former mayor Samiksha Gupta are amongst the big names that were ousted. In addition, Raj Kumar Yadav, Lata Mehsaki and Dheeraj Pateria were also removed.

The reason cited by the party for the expulsion of the 53 leaders is reportedly ‘indiscipline’.

Of these, Singh had already defected to the Congress the previous week. The two-time MLA who represented the Seoni-Malwa constituency will now be contesting the state elections on a Congress ticket from Hoshangabad.

Also Read: Rajasthan Polls: BJP’s Dausa MP Harish Chandra Meena Joins Congress

Kushmaria and Gupta had also announced that they would be contesting elections as independent candidates. On Wednesday, November 14, Gupta had declared that she had quit the BJP. “Dedicated party workers are being ignored. So I have resigned from the party,” the former Mayor had said.

Madhya Pradesh has a 230-member legislative assembly. It will be going for polls in a single-phase election on November 28. Results for the polls will be announced on December 11. With a strong anti-incumbency wave in the state threatening Chief Minister Shivraj Singh’s ouster, the expulsion of prominent leaders this close to the elections indicates that all is not well in the party camp.

Also Read: 5-Time BJP MLA Resigns as Minister, Quits Party

अब आप न्यूज़ सेंट्रल 24x7 को हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं।यहाँ क्लिक करें