May a good source be with you.

Uttar Pradesh: Congress Leaves Seven Seats For SP-BSP-RLD Alliance

The party will not contest in Mainpuri, Kannauj, Firozabad among other constituencies.

The Congress party on Sunday, March 17, announced that it would not contest seven Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh and leave them for the Samajwadi Party-Bahujan Samaj Party-Rashtriya Lok Dal (SP-BSP-RLD) alliance. After finalising seat-sharing arrangement with the Apna Dal on Saturday, the party has also entered into an electoral arrangement with former Uttar Pradesh Minister Babu Singh Kushwaha’s Jan Adhikar Party (JAP).

In a press conference, Congress’ Uttar Pradesh unit chief Raj Babbar reportedly said that the party will not field a candidate in Mainpuri, from where SP leader Mulayam Singh Yadav is contesting, Kannauj, which is assigned to Dimple Yadav, and Firozabad, assigned to SP’s Akshay Yadav, and the constituencies from where BSP chief Mayawati and RLD chief Ajit Singh and his son Jayant Chaudhary will contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. He didn’t mention the details of the seventh seat which the Congress party will not contest. As per reports, senior party leaders suggested that the traditional party might give up the Azamgarh seat, from where Akhilesh Yadav is expected to contest.

“The Congress also entered into an electoral agreement of seven seats with the Jan Adkhikar Party. Under the agreement, the Jan Adkhikar Party will contest from five seats, including Jhansi, Chandauli, Etah and Basti. On two seats, the candidates of Jan Adkhikar Party will contest on Congress symbol. One of the two seats is Ghazipur,” Babbar said.

On Saturday, the Congress party allocated two Lok Sabha seats — Pilbhit and Gonda — to Krishna Patel-led Apna Dal.

Also read: Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress, Apna Dal Seal Alliance; Apna Dal to Contest Two Seats in Uttar Pradesh

अब आप न्यूज़ सेंट्रल 24x7 को हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं।यहाँ क्लिक करें